Downtown Dayton Partnership
Doing Business Urban Living Things To Do The Downtown Environment Find It Downtown
News & Publications EasyPark & Transportation About Downtown About the DDP New My Downtown Contact Us
Things To Do
The Square Is Where



the square is where...

Lunchtime entertainment in the heart of Your Downtown

Noontime entertainment in the heart of downtown Dayton is back for the summer, and it's bigger and better than ever! The Downtown Dayton Partnership and Montgomery County present The Square Is Where ... , featuring free live entertainment and much more, weekdays on downtown's Courthouse Square.

See the schedule below!

A variety of performers will take the stage around the noontime lunch hour on most weekdays during the summer months (May 9 through September 30). Entertainment will include bands, dancers, live trivia, arts groups, acoustic musicians and more.

Food trucks and vendors also will set up on Courthouse Square each weekday, allowing downtown workers and others to grab lunch and take in the live entertainment while enjoying the outdoors downtown.

This year's program once again includes patio umbrella and bistro-style tables, cornhole, mini-golf, giant chess and checkers, and other games and activities. Fun tournaments and other events also are planned to help you enjoy taking a break from the office, meeting up with friends and coworkers, and enjoying the sunshine during lunch!

Fridays Rock! Presented by PNCCelebrate the end of your work week with a rockin' band each Friday during lunchtime with the Fridays Rock! series, presented by PNC.

A calendar of scheduled entertainment can be found below. Check back often, as the schedule will be updated throughout the summer. You also can "Like" The Square Is Where on Facebook to get the latest updates on upcoming entertainment and more.

If you are interested in performing on the Square this summer or would like more information about The Square Is Where ..., contact Emily Broughton by This email address is being protected from spam bots, you need Javascript enabled to view it or at (937) 224-1518, ext. 227.

The Square Is Where you should be during your lunch hour this summer!


Scheduled Entertainment

Monday, August 18 - Student musicians from the Community Artists League
Tuesday, August 19 - Trivia Tuesday with Rob D'Agostino
Wednesday, August 20 - Health Fair and musician Gary Hill
Thursday, August 21 - Fleetwood Dreams
Friday, August 22 - Fridays Rock with Meghna and the Majority

Bluegrass Week!
Monday, August 25
- Scott Lee
Tuesday, August 26 - Ryan Judy
Wednesday, August 27 - Todd the Fox
Thursday, August 28 - Great Wide Open
Friday, August 29 - Fridays Rock with Blue Moon Soup, plus Nonprofit Day

Monday, September 1 - (No programming - holiday)
Tuesday, September 2 - Trivia Tuesday with Rob D'Agostino
Wednesday, September 3 - Josh Weston
Thursday, September 4 - Tim Jennens Duo
Friday, September 5 - URS Ducks on the Square


Past Dates
Friday, May 9 - The Square Is Where season kickoff with Beatles tribute band Beatlejuice and juggler Tony Steinbach

Monday, May 12 - Classic covers and oldies from James Merrick
Tuesday, May 13 - Trivia Tuesday with Rob D'Agostino
Wednesday, May 14 - Acoustic guitarist Dan Rivers (canceled due to weather)
Thursday, May 15 - The Dynamic Duo - two friends playing tunes (canceled due to weather)
Friday, May 16 - Fridays Rock with Tempest (canceled due to weather)

Monday, May 19 - Student musicians from the Community Artists League
Tuesday, May 20 - Trivia Tuesday with Rob D'Agostino
Wednesday, May 21 - Dayton Metro Library Summer Reading Club Kickoff and Saxophonist Ed Osborne
Thursday, May 22 - Rock covers from The Rejects
Friday, May 23 - Fridays Rock with My Girl Friday

Monday, May 26 - (No programming - holiday)
Tuesday, May 27 - Trivia Tuesday with Rob D'Agostino
Wednesday, May 28 - Acoustic guitarist Dan Rivers
Thursday, May 29 - Jazz from the Tim Jennens Duo
Friday, May 30 - Fridays Rock with Grateful Parrot

Monday, June 2 - Acoustic guitarist Dan Rivers
Tuesday, June 3 - Trivia Tuesday with Rob D'Agostino
Wednesday, June 4 - Singer/Songwriter Meg Osman (canceled due to weather)
Thursday, June 5 - The Dynamic Duo - two friends playing tunes
Friday, June 6 - African American Wellness Walk Kickoff

Monday, June 9 - Music from DJ Jay
Tuesday, June 10 - Trivia Tuesday with Rob D'Agostino (canceled due to weather)
Wednesday, June 11 - Summer Kickoff Day (canceled due to weather)
Thursday, June 12 - Rock Covers from The Rejects
Friday, June 13 - Senior Resources Day

Monday, June 16 - Guitarist Danny Voris
Tuesday, June 17 - Trivia Tuesday with Rob D'Agostino
Wednesday, June 18 - Joseph Glenn - steel drum
Thursday, June 19 - RTA's Dump the Pump kickoff & DJ Jay
Friday, June 20 - Fridays Rock with The John Nichols Band

Summer Celebration Week!
Monday, June 23
- Eden Yoga
Tuesday, June 24 - Summer Luau & Trivia Tuesday with Rob D'Agostino
Wednesday, June 25 - Music from The Dinosaurs, cornhole tournament and more
Thursday, June 26 - DJ Jay & cornhole tournament finals
Friday, June 27 - Summer Carnival and Jazz music from The Odyssey

America Week!
Monday, June 30
- Madeline Smith Orchestral Ensemble & National Anthem by Belinda Goheen
Tuesday, July 1 - Kettering Kickers & National Anthem by Robert Brown
Wednesday, July 2 - Kettering Civic Band, Dayton Dragons, & National Anthem by Jason Pierce
Thursday, July 3 - DJ Jay & National Anthem by Tom Beery
Friday, July 4 - (No programming - holiday)

Monday, July 7 - Guitarist Danny Voris
Tuesday, July 8 - Trivia Tuesday with Rob D'Agostino (canceled due to weather)
Wednesday, July 9 - Guitarist Travis Williams
Thursday, July 10 - The Eric Jerardi Band
Friday, July 11 - Fridays Rock with Tempest

Monday, July 14 - Gary Hill (canceled due to weather)
Tuesday, July 15 - Trivia Tuesday with Rob D'Agostino
Wednesday, July 16 - Singer/songwriter Meg Osman
Thursday, July 17 - Jazz from Tim Jennens
Friday, July 18 - Fridays Rock with Pourover

I Love Working Downtown Week!
Monday, July 21
- Music from Jim Merrick, free coffee from Boston Stoker
Tuesday, July 22 - Trivia Tuesday with Rob D'Agostino
Wednesday, July 23 - Celtic Festival preview, saxophonist Ed Osborne
Thursday, July 24 - Jazz from the Mike Glynn Duo
Friday, July 25 - Fridays Rock with the Andy Cata Band, free sandwiches and iced coffee from Ohio Coffee Co.

Reggae Week!
Monday, July 28
- Music from DJ Jay
Tuesday, July 29 - Trivia Tuesday with Rob D'Agostino
Wednesday, July 30 - Joseph Glenn - steel drum
Thursday, July 31 - Seefari
Friday, August 1 - Fridays Rock with the Bachanal Steel Band

Jazz Week!
Monday, August 4
- Ed Osborne - saxophone
Tuesday, August 5 - Trivia Tuesday with Rob D'Agostino
Wednesday, August 6 - Patricia Berg
Thursday, August 7 - The Odyssey
Friday, August 8 - Fridays Rock with the Charles Walker Band

Visual Arts Week!
Monday, August 11
- Travis Williams - guitarist, and live painting from Studio Meco (canceled due to weather)
Tuesday, August 12 - Trivia Tuesday with Rob D'Agostino
Wednesday, August 13 - Art-Off, hosted by K12 Gallery for Young People
Thursday, August 14 - Ed Osborne - saxophone
Friday, August 15 - Fridays Rock with The Collective, plus painters from Stivers and Gallery 510